Steering Committee "Biodiversity Convention"

Although the policy of nature conservation is mostly a regional matter, co-ordination bodies under the authority of the Ministry of the Environment are in charge of its international aspects. For environmental matters, the federal co-ordinating body is the Co-ordinating Committee for International Environmental Policy (CCIEP). It is composed by representatives of all the federal and regional competent administrations (for more information, see the note by the Ministry, in French or in Dutch).

Several steering committees are currently operating under the direct authority of the CCIEP; one of these is the Steering Committee ‘Biodiversity Convention'. The terms of reference for the Steering Committe "Biodiversity Convention" are the following:

  • preparation of Belgium's National Reports,
  • preparation of a Biological Diversity Country Study,
  • preparation of a National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plans,
  • preparation of Belgian points of view and statements under the CBD process,
  • preparation and follow-up of SBSTTA and COP meetings,
  • expertise in Convention matters.

Members of the Steering Committee

Chairman

Dr Jackie Van Goethem
Hoofd van het Departement Invertebraten
Koninklijk Belgisch Instituut voor
Natuurwetenschappen
Vautierstraat 29
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 627 43 43 or 02 627 45 45
Fax: 02 627 41 41
E-mail: jackie.vangoethem@naturalsciences.be

Coordinator

 

Mme Claire Collin
Point focal national ABS

Federal Public Service of Public Health, Food Chain Security and Environment
DG Environment
Place Victor Horta 40, box 10
B-1060 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 210 46 62
Fax: 02 210 46 99
E-mail: Claire.Collin@health.fgov.be

Secretariat

Belgian National Focal Point for the CBD
Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences
Vautier Street 29
B-1000 Brussels
Tel.: 02 627 45 45 or 02 627 43 42
Fax: 02 627 41 41
E-mail: cbd-nfp@naturalsciences.be

Correspondents and experts

M. Geoffrey Bailleux
Office de la Propriété Industrielle
Ministère des Affaires Economiques
North Gate III
Boulevard du Roi Albert II 16
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 206 48 26
Fax: 02 206 57 50
E-mail: geoffrey.bailleux@mineco.fgov.be
Mevr. Sabrina Bijlsma
AMINAL
Afdeling Europa en Milieu
Koning Albert II-laan, bus 8 (4de verd.)
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 553 76 70
Fax: 02 553 81 65
E-mail: sabrina.bijlsma@lin.vlaanderen.be
Dr Etienne Branquart
Plate-forme Biodiversité
CRNFB/DGRNE
Avenue Maréchal Juin 23
B-5030 Gembloux
Tel.: 081 620 420
Fax: 081 620 436
E-mail : E.Branquart@mrw.wallonie.be
Dr Didier Breyer
Point focal Biosafety Clearing-House
Expert auprès du 'Belgian Biosafety Council'

Section de Biosécurité et Biotechnologie
Institut Scientifique de la Santé Publique
Rue Juliette Wytsman 14
B-1050 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 642 52 93
Fax: 02 642 52 92
E-mail: dbreyer@sbb.ihe.be
M. Frederic Chemay
Attaché Environnement
Représentation permanente auprès de l'UE
Rond-point Schuman 6
B-1040 Bruxelles
Détaché auprès du Ministre fédéral de l'Environnement
Tel.: 02 233 21 91
Fax: 02 231 10 75
E-mail: frederic.chemay@belgoeurop.diplobel.fgov.be
frederic.chemay@health.fgov.be
Dr Els Coart
Departement Plantengenetica en Plantenveredeling
Centrum voor Landbouwkundig Onderzoek
Caritasstraat 21
B-9090 Melle
Tel.: 09 272 28 41
Fax: 09 272 29 01
E-mail: e.coart@clo.fgov.be
Ir Carl De Schepper
Voorzitter van de Stuurgroep 'Bossen'
Afdeling Bos en Groen - AMINAL
Koning Albert II laan 20, bus 8
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 553 81 22
Fax: 02 553 81 05
E-mail: Carl.DeSchepper@lin.vlaanderen.be
Ir Catherine Debruyne
Point focal régional wallon CDB

Direction de la Nature à la Division de la Nature et des Forêts,
DGRNE,
Ministère de la Région wallonne
15, avenue Prince de Liège
B-5100 Jambes
Tel.: 081 33 58 04
Fax: 081 33 58 22
E-mail: c.debruyne@mrw.wallonie.be
Dr Jérôme Degreef
Jardin botanique nationale de Belgique
Domein van Bouchout
B-1860 Meise
Tel.: 02 260 09 54
Fax: 02 260 09 45
E-mail: jerome.degreef@br.fgov.be
Prof. Vincent Demoulin
Département de Botanique
Université de Liège - Bâtiment 22
Boulevard du Rectorat 27
B-4000 Liège
Tel.: 04 366 38 53
Fax: 04 366 28 53
E-mail: V.Demoulin@ulg.ac.be
M. Marc Depoortere
CFDD
Rue des Aduatiques 71-73
1040 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 743 31 58
Fax: 02 743 31 55
E-mail:Marc.Depoortere@frdo-cfdd.be
Ir Philippe Desmeth
BCCM-MUCL / SPP Politique scientifique
Place Croix du Sud 3
B-1348 Louvain-la-Neuve
Tel.: 010 47 89 36
Fax: 010 45 15 01
E-mail: desmeth@mbla.ucl.ac.be
Mevr. Ingrid D'Hondt
Federale overheidsdienst Volksgezondheid, Veiligheid van de Voedselketen en
Leefmilieu - DG 5
EUROSTATION bloc II
Victor Horta Plein, 40 bus 10
B- 1060 Brussels
Tel: 02 524 96 24
E-mail: Ingrid.D'Hondt@health.fgov.be 
Prof. dr. Henri Dumont
Laboratorium voor Ecologie der dieren,
Zoögeografie en Natuurbehoud
RUG
Ledeganckstraat 35
B-9000 Gent
Tel.: 09 264 52 53
Fax: 09 264 53 43
E-mail: henri.dumont@rug.ac.be
Mme Lucette Flandroy
Federal Public Service for Public Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment
D.G. Environment
Place Victor Horta 40, box 10
B-1060 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 524 96 22
Fax: 02 210 46 99
Email: Lucette.Flandroy@health.fgov.be
Dr Anne Franklin
Département des Invertébrés
Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique
Rue Vautier 29
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 627 45 87
Fax: 02 627 41 41
E-mail: Anne Franklin
Dr Machteld Gryseels
Regionaal Knooppunt VBD

BIM / IBGE
Gulledelle 100
B-1200 Brussel
Tel.: 02 775 75 61 or 02 775 75 11
Fax: 02 775 77 21
E-mail: mgr@ibgebim.be
M. François Guissart
BCCM / SSTC
Rue de la Science 8
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 238 36 41
Fax: 02 230 59 12
E-mail: guis@belspo.be
Dhr Patrick Hollebosch
Directoraat-Generaal Internationale Samenwerking
Ministerie van Buitenlandse Zaken
Brederodestraat 6
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 519 07 11
Fax: 02 519 05 75
E-mail: Patrick.Hollebosch@diplobel.fed.be 
Dr Nicole Henry
SPP Politique scientifique
Rue de la Science 8
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 238 35 07
Fax: 02 230 59 12
E-mail: henr@belspo.be
Dr Thierry G. Jacques
UGMM / BMM
Gulledelle 100
B-1200 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 773 21 24
Fax: 02 770 69 72
E-mail: T.Jacques@mumm.ac.be
M. Arnold Jacques de Dixmude
Direction Générale de la Coopération au Développement
Rue des Petits Carmes 15
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 519 05 59
Fax: 02 519 06 83
E-mail: Arnold.Jacquesdedixmude@diplobel.fed.be
Dhr Francis Kerckhof
UGMM / BMM
2de en 23ste Linieregimentsplein
B-8400 Oostende
Tel.: 059 24 20 56
Fax: 059 70 49 35
E-mail: F.Kerckhof@mumm.ac.be
Prof. dr. Eckhart Kuijken
Directeur van het
Instituut voor Natuurbehoud
Kliniekstraat 25
B-1070 Brussel
Tel.: 02 558 18 11
Fax: 02 558 18 05
E-mail: eckhart.kuijken@instnat.be
Dr ir Marc Lateur
Centre de Recherches agronomiques de Gembloux
Rue du Liroux 4
B-5030 Gembloux
Tel: 081 62 03 14
Fax: 081 62 03 49
E-mail: lateur@cra.wallonie.be
M. Xavier Leblanc
Environnement et Développement durable
- P 62
Ministère des Affaires étrangères
Rue des Carmélites 15
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 501 37 09
Fax: 02 501 37 03
E-mail: Xavier.Leblanc@diplobel.fed.be
Prof. Philippe Lebrun
Unité d'écologie et de biogéographie
UCL
Place Croix du Sud 4-5
B-1348 Louvain-la-Neuve
Tel.: 010 47 34 88 or 010 47 34 56
Fax: 010 47 34 90
E-mail: lebrun@ecol.ucl.ac.be
Ir Geert Lejeune
WWF-België
Emile Jacqmainlaan 90
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 340 09 55
Fax: 02 340 09 38
E-mail: geert.lejeune@wwf.be
M. Ulrik Lenaerts
Medewerker Kabinet Leefmilieu
Wetstraat 62
B-1040 Brussel
Tel: 02 238 28 36
Fax: 02 230 38 95
E-mail: Ulrik.Lenaerts@health.fgov.be
Mme Sandrine Liegeois
Direction de la Nature à la Division de la Nature et des Forêts,
DGRNE,
Ministère de la Région wallonne
15, avenue Prince de Liège
B-5100 Jambes
Tel.: 081 33 58 87
Fax: 081 33 58 22
E-mail: s.liegeois@mrw.wallonie.be 
Dr Els Martens
Regionaal knooppunt biodiversiteit Vlaanderen

Afdeling Natuur
AMINAL
Koning Albert II-laan 20, bus 8
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 553 76 78
Fax: 02 553 76 85
E-mail: els.martens@lin.vlaanderen.be
Mme Catherine Mertens
Secrétaire du CFDD
Rue des Aduatiques 71-73
B-1040 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 743 31 53
Fax: 02 743 31 55
E-mail: Catherine.Mertens@frdo-cfdd.be
Dr William Moens
Head of the Service of Biosafety and Biotechnology
Institut Scientifique de Santé Publique Louis Pasteur
Rue Juliette Wytsman 14
B-1050 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 642 52 93
Fax: 02 642 52 92
E-mail: wmoens@sbb.ihe.be
Dhr Hendrik Neven
Voorzitter Stuurgroep 'Landbouw en Milieu'
Afdeling Land - Aminal
Koning Albert II-laan 20
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 553 80 70
Fax: 02 553 80 25
E-mail: Hendrik.Neven@lin.vlaanderen.be
Prof. Alain Peeters
Unité d'écologie des prairies et grandes cultures - UCL
Place Croix du Sud 5 bte 1
B-1348 Louvain-La-Neuve
Tel.: 010 47 37 71
Fax: 010 47 24 28
E-mail: peeters@ecop.ucl.ac.be
Dhr Marc Peeters
Nationaal knooppunt VBD
Departement Invertebraten
Koninklijk Belgisch Instituut voor Natuurwetenschappen
Vautierstraat 29
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 627 45 65
Fax: 02 627 41 41
E-mail: marc.peeters@naturalsciences.be
M. Vincent Peremans
Cabinet du Ministre wallon de l'Agriculture, de la Ruralité, de l'Environnement et du Tourisme
Chaussée de Louvain 21
B-5000 Namur
Tel.: 081 71 03 10
Fax: 081 71 03 81
E-mail: vincent.peremans@gov.wallonie.be
Dr Marc Pollet
IWT
Bischoffsheimlaan 25
B-1000 Brussel
Tel.: 02 209 09 02
Fax: 02 223 11 81
E-mail: mp@iwt.be
Prof. Dr. Jan Rammeloo
Nationaal knooppunt "Global Strategy for Plant Conservation", Directeur
Nationale Plantentuin van België
Domein van Bouchout
B-1860 Meise
Tel.: 02 260 09 28
Fax: 02 260 09 45
E-mail: Jan.Rammeloo@br.fgov.be
Dr Isabel Roldan-Ruiz
Departement Plantengenetica en Plantenveredeling
Centrum voor Landbouwkundig Onderzoek
Caritasstraat 21
9090 Melle
Tel.: 09 272 28 82
Fax: 09 272 29 01
E-mail: i.roldan-ruiz@clo.fgov.be
Mme Marianne Schlesser
Point focal national CDB
Département des Invertébrés
Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique
Rue Vautier 29
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 627 45 25
Fax: 02 627 41 41
E-mail: marianne.schlesser@naturalsciences.be
Dr. Hendrik Segers
Belgian Biodiversity Platform
Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences
Section of Freshwater Biology Vautierstraat 29 
B-1000 Brussels
Tel.: 02 627 43 10
Fax: 02 627 44 33
E-mail: hendrik.segers@naturalsciences.be
Ir Jacques Stein
Président du groupe "Nature"
Direction générale des Ressources
naturelles et de l'Environnement
Av. Prince de Liège 15
5100 Namur
Tel.: 081 33 58 60
Fax: 081 33 58 22
E-mail: j.stein@mrw.wallonie.be
Dr Jurgen Tack
Biodiversiteits Platform
Instituut voor Natuurbehoud
Kliniekstraat 25
B-1070 Brussel
Tel.: 02 558 18 11
Fax: 02 558 18 05
E-mail: jurgen.tack@instnat.be
Mme Aline van der Werf
SPP Politique scientifique
Rue de la Science 8
B-1000 Bruxelles
Tel.: 02 238 36 71
Fax: 02 230 59 12
E-mail: vdwe@belspo.be
Ir Jozef Van Slycken
General manager
Instituut voor Bosbouw en Wildbeheer
Gaverstraat 4
B-9500 Geraardsbergen
Tel.: 054 43 71 10
Fax: 054 41 08 96
E-mail: Jozef.VanSlycken@lin.vlaanderen.be
Dr Erik Vanbockstaele
Departement Plantengenetica en Plantenveredeling
Centrum voor Landbouwkundig Onderzoek
Caritasstraat 21
9090 Melle
Tel.: 09 272 28 42
Fax: 09 272 29 01
E-mail: E.Vanbockstaele@clo.fgov.be
Ir Kris Vandekerkhove
Instituut voor Bosbouw en Wildbeheer
Gaverstraat 4
B-9500 Geraardsbergen
Tel.: 054 43 71 11
Fax: 054 41 08 96
E-mail: kvandekerkhove@ibw.be or Kris.Vandekerkhove@lin.vlaanderen.be
Mevr. Katrien Van Wouwe
FOD Economie, dienst voor de
Intellectuele Eigendom
North Gate III
Koning Albert II-laan, 16
B-1000 Brussel
Tel: 02 206 48 81
Fax: 0 2 206 57 50
Email: katrien.vanwouwe@mineco.fgov.be
M. J.-P. Verhaegen
Cabinet du Ministre wallon de l'Agriculture, de la Ruralité, de l'Environnement et du Tourisme
Chaussée de Louvain 21
B-5000 Namur
Tel.: 081 71 03 10
Fax: 081 71 03 81
E-mail:
jp.verhaegen@mrw.wallonie.be

Since july 2004 not in the cabinet anymore, replaced by Vincent Peremans

Dhr. Jo Versteven
ICDO secretariaat
Kunstlaan 47-49
B-1000 Brussel
Tel: 02 507 74 85
E-mail: jve@plan.be

Home > Implementation > Authorities > Steering committee

Last updated 25-04-2005


© Belgian Clearing-House Mechanism, 2001.
On the Internet since 7 October 1996.
Contact us

Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences